## RS 25:891

## CHAPTER 20. LOUISIANA STATE ARTS COUNCIL, DIVISION OF THE ARTS

§891. Louisiana State Arts Council created; appointment of members; qualifications; terms; officers; domicile

A.(1) The Louisiana State Arts Council, originally created by Executive Order No. 76-14, is hereby created and established as an agency of the state. The council shall consist of twenty-four members. Membership shall be balanced and representative of the state's arts community, including minority and ethnic groups, practicing artists, artistic disciplines, large and small arts organizations, and local arts councils. There shall be at least one member from each of the state's congressional districts, at least one member from each of the state's planning districts, and the remaining members from the state at large, appointed by the governor. Each appointment by the governor shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

(2) Twenty-two members of the council shall be appointed by the governor from persons nominated as follows:

(a) Three members shall be appointed from a list of names submitted by the lieutenant governor.

(b) One member shall be appointed from a name or list of names submitted by the president of the Louisiana Senate.

(c) One member shall be appointed from a name or list of names submitted by the speaker of the Louisiana House of Representatives.

(d) One member shall be appointed from a name or list of names submitted by the Louisiana Tourism Commission.

(e) One member shall be appointed from a name or list of names submitted by the Louisiana Alliance for Arts Education or its successor.

(f) Fifteen members shall be appointed from lists of names of civic, business, and cultural leaders submitted by organizations representing artists and arts organizations including but not limited to the Partnership for the Arts.

(3) The secretary of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism and the assistant secretary of the office of cultural development shall serve as ex officio members of the council.

B. Members of the council shall receive no compensation for their services but are authorized to receive their reasonable actual and travel expenses insofar as funds are made available and are authorized by the secretary of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, hereinafter referred to as the secretary.

C. The governor shall designate one member of the council to serve as chairman. The council shall elect, by majority vote of a quorum, other officers, including a vice chairman, secretary, and parliamentarian, to serve for two years. The council shall be domiciled in the city of Baton Rouge, but is authorized to hold public meetings elsewhere in the state. D.(1) Members of the council, except the ex officio members, shall serve four-year terms after initial terms as provided in this Subsection.

(2) Eleven members of the council shall serve initial terms of two years and eleven members shall serve initial terms of four years as determined by lot at the first meeting of the council after the membership of the council is appointed pursuant to Subsection A of this Section.

Acts 1983, No. 687, §4, eff. March 12, 1984; Acts 1984, No. 748, §1, eff. July 13, 1984; Acts 1986, No. 118, §1; Acts 1991, No. 4, §1., eff. Jan. 13, 1992; Acts 1997, No. 1225, §1.

{{NOTE: SEE ACTS 1991, NO. 4, §2.}} NOTE: SEE ACTS 1997, NO. 1225, §2.